h1

Bookish

September 8, 2009

Eleven and a half years ago, when I was falling in love with the man who became my husband, I was warned by a few of my friends that I’d never hold his interest.

One in particular, who turned out to be not such a great friend after all, informed me that Jeromy was usually into fun, pretty women.  I, apparently, was too bookish and plain.  And boring.  Let’s not forget boring.

It worried me, for a while. 

But I still remember meeting his friends and them telling Jeromy how much they enjoyed talking to me.  It made me blush to hear pride in his voice when he said to his friend David, “She’s really intelligent, isn’t she?”

Eventually, I stopped comparing myself to the women he dated before me.  Most of them were beautiful, all of them were fun.

Interesting how they were the ones who couldn’t keep his attention.

8 comments

  1. God, I love bookish.


  2. I’ve always known you were a smart girl.


  3. Mskes perfect sense to me. Beautiful, fun AND brilliant, he didn’t stand a chance.


  4. Beauty and brains great combo!And you got the prize too! Take that shallow ex GF!


  5. Umm….since when are you not beautiful? I think you’re a really pretty woman (and I say this in a totally platonic way ^^)!
    You kept him = you rock!


  6. You are beautiful & you are definitely FUN!!!

    So glad you didn’t let those other women affect your relationship.

    P.S. on a totally unrelated note, I had a guy tell me once that we couldn’t date because I wasn’t “girlfriend” material I was “wife” material. WTH? Don’t you have to be a “girlfriend” before you can be a “wife”. I never really understood that. I think he should have just said, “It’s not you, it’s ME!” 🙂


  7. “Friends” can be just *great* that way, can’t they? ::sigh:: I’m glad she was dead wrong, because that man adores you. 🙂


  8. I can relate to this. Everyone said I was pretty much wasting my time…thinking he would marry me and settle down.

    Here we are, almost 10 years later, still going strong.



Leave a Reply

