h1

Shrunk

October 12, 2009

I’ve gone back to therapy, and let me just tell you.  A good therapist is worth their weight in gold.  And chocolate.  And orgasms.  What?  It’s true.

Mine has an EMDR machine, which traditional therapists kind of poo-poo, but someone like me embraces.  I’ve always been intrigued by the mind’s inner-workings, and different ways to access the noggin. 

Common books on my shelf include Abnormal Psychology, the DSM-V and Cognitive Development.  In my opinion, if there’s something that can get to the root of my mind-boggles?  Bring it.

Which is also why I’m a big fan of hypnotherapy.  Not that mumbo-jumbo hypnosis that sells $2 tickets at the county fair.  Real hypnotherapy.  One of these days I’ll post a video of me giving birth (either one will do) and you can just go ahead and try to tell me that hypnotherapy doesn’t work. 

I’m living proof that it not only works, but it’s fucking awesome.

Anyway.  I’m getting my shit together.  I’m felling better already. 

It’s interesting what comes up in therapy, though.  Discovering that I wash my hands till they bleed, and think negative thoughts, all because I think I’m not worthy of happiness and want to punish myself for my past indiscretions?  Hmmmm.

That’s good stuff.  It’s nice to realize I do deserve happiness.  It’s wonderful to hear someone tell me I’m a good person, not in spite of the mistakes I’ve made, but because of them.  It’s nice to feel good about myself. 

And wonderful to realize I deserve to feel that way.

10 comments

  1. That’s fantastic. I’m also a big believer in hypnotherapy. I’m just having a hard time finding a therapist! Good for you.


  2. That must be an incredible feeling. Good for you for taking that step. (Hugs.)


  3. Wow so happy for you, you do deserve to be happy. I hope you have continued success.


  4. So proud of you! You deserve all the good stuff, my friend! Keep at it and know that we’re all here supporting you!


  5. I used hypnotherapy to cure myself of panic attacks when I was in my mid-20’s. It totally worked. I signed up for a hypnobirthing course when I was pregnant, and I barely made it through one class. The environment of that classroom just didn’t work for me like it did with a one-on-one therapist.

    So glad you’re finding stuff that works and is making you feel better. That’s awesome.


  6. It sounds like you have a great therapist. I’ve always been interested in hypnotherapy. You deserve good things and it seems like you are on the right path for finding that out for yourself.


  7. I right now have a great therapist too. Shit man, she even want to do that EMDR thing on me. But I don’t really get it. Does it really work?

    I am so glad you are starting to do a bit better.


  8. I’m a good person, not in spite of the mistakes I’ve made, but because of them. It’s nice to feel good about myself.

    And wonderful to realize I deserve to feel that way.

    Hooray! Hypnotherapy sounds really interesting. I wonder if that could help me with my motivational problems…. ;p


  9. It’s so good to read this. I love your sense of humor through your struggles.


  10. This is exactly our topic in school at the moment. I am really speaking for EMDR! It’s weird, but awesome at the same time.



Leave a Reply

